Head of the Class

Head of the Class (1986)

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Creator: Rich Eustis
  • First Air Date: 1986-09-17
  • Last Air Date: 1991-06-25
  • Total Seasons: 5
  • Total Episodes: 114
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 22 min.
  • Production Company: Warner Bros. Television
  • Networks: ABC
star 6.3/10
From 22 Ratings


Head of the Class is an American sitcom that ran from 1986 to 1991 on the ABC television network. The series follows a group of gifted students in the Individualized Honors Program at the fictional Monroe High School in Manhattan, and their history teacher Charlie Moore. The program was ostensibly a vehicle for Hesseman, best known for his role as radio DJ Dr. Johnny Fever in the sitcom WKRP in Cincinnati. Hesseman left Head of the Class in 1990 and was replaced by Billy Connolly as teacher Billy MacGregor for the final season. After the series ended, Connolly appeared in a short-lived spin-off titled Billy. The series was created and executive produced by Rich Eustis and Michael Elias. Rich Eustis had previously worked as a New York City substitute teacher while hoping to become an actor.

  • Keywords: high school, classroom, nerd, teacher, teen comedy, manhattan, new york city, sitcom, gifted children
  • Play Free Online Games

    Head of the Class Trailer

    Head of the Class Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1986-09-17
    22 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1987-09-23
    22 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1988-10-19
    22 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1989-09-27
    26 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1990-09-11
    22 Episodes

    Head of the Class Episodes

    No episodes found.
    • Michael DeLorenzo

      as Alex Torres
    • Rain Pryor

      as Theola June 'T.J.' Jones
    • Billy Connolly

      as Billy MacGregor
    • Jeannetta Arnette

      as Bernadette Meara
    • Khrystyne Haje

      as Simone Foster
    • Kimberly Russell

      as Sarah Nevins
    • Jonathan Ke Quan

      as Jasper Kwong
    • Dan Frischman

      as Arvid Engen
    • Brian Robbins

      as Eric Mardian
    • Dan Schneider

      as Dennis Blunden
    • Tony O'Dell

      as Alan Pinkard
    • Robin Givens

      as Darlene Merriman
    • De'voreaux White

      as Aristotle McKenzie
    • Lara Piper

      as Viki Amory
    • William G. Schilling

      as Dr. Harold Samuels